If a student has a grey ‘inactive’ button next to their name in the People page it means they were enrolled but have since dropped the course. They’re still listed in the People section for auditing and record keeping, but they won’t appear in the Grades section.
Yes, you can. Settings > Student view. However, note that this does not allow you to see an accurate view of section restrictions.